The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. I predict that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits even more dramatically."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The owner points out that by modifying showerheads in the three apartments. It can save a substantial amount of money for the manager. Therefore, all twelve buildings should the same. Before making this decision, the owner should answer several questions.

First of all, before the water usage readings are available, how could you be sure that less water will be used? Due the low pressure of water, residents might have longer shower times. Low water pressure will make washing down soap and cleaning more difficult. If they have five times longer than their original shower length, the water used might be even more before implementing the shower heads.

Secondly, can the residents change the showerheads' settings? Some clever residents might be able to remove the water restrict device and use the original pressure to clean. They might even apply a pressure amplifier to increase water outflow. Making the water bills more expensive. Thus, the owner should make sure that no residents have changed the setting of the showerheads.

Last but not least, the owner recommends that all building should apply the same method. However, is the owner informed that all twelve building's water pressures are the same? If the first three buildings have higher water pressures that are uncomfortable for shower, restricting water flow might have done the residents a favor. On the other hand, if the other nine buildings have lower pressures already, then restricting one-third of water might cause an outrage among residents. They might leave their apartments next year or sue the owner for scamming them. The cost of the result might be unable to complement the saving of the water bill. Therefore, the owner should investigate whether the water pressure of all their buildings.

In conclusion, the owner must answer the questions mentioned above and provide proof before reporting his proposition to the manager.