A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author points out that the increasing use of food products containing salicylates will have the aid to reduce headaches in Mantia. However, the author needs to provide sufficient evidence to prove the claim.

First of all, is the study conducted in a controlled group where people have the same habits and health knowledge? The residents in Mantia might improve their knowledge in health issues by reading health articles and TV programs, therefore, adapt a healthy diet. Avoiding consuming processed food products and turn their attention to natural foods. Moreover, the government of Mantia might launch a campaign during this time to encourage the residents to exercise more, establishing sports facilities. Due to the frequent exercise done by Mantia residents, it might be one of the important reasons reducing headaches. Therefore, the author need to provide how the study was conducted whether the habits of the Mantia has changed.

Secondly, does adding salicylates artificially into processed food has the same effect as it contained in natural food? Processed food containing salicylates might have a side effect contrast to natural food with salicylates. Maybe the salicylates added in processed food is concentrated or modified, which might be harmful to human in the long run. Before we can regard they have the same effect to the human body, the author must provide information that adding salicylates is proved unharmed. Also, considering salicylates to have the same effects as aspirin to treat headaches is unreasonable. Being in the same chemical family doesn't mean they can be treated equally. The author must provide more evidence about salicylates whether it can mitigate headaches.

Thirdly, the companies is adding salicylates to more porducts. Therefore, we might need to consider that does human body have a upper limit of consuming salicylates. Once the limit is reached, it may causes different illness other than headaches. Also as salicylates being flavor additives, does it react to certain chemicals in foods or temperature? Before adding too much of salicylates to food, the author must provide evidence of studies to proof.

To conclude, the author should provide the evidence mentioned above the proof his claim.