A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The author assumes that the correlation between the increase in salicylates and the decrease in the number of headaches is sufficient proof that those two aspects are related. However, before we can conclude these assumptions, three questions need to be answered.

Is the decline in the average number of headaches similar to the average decline percentage of the headaches? The author assumes that just because the number of people experiencing headaches went down, the percentage of headaches declined as well. If there were near one hundred people in previous studies and fifty people in the most recent studies, obviously a decline in the numbers would be evident. For instance, an average with a population of two hundred partipants with one hundred of them experiencing occurring headaches would yield to a 50% headache rate within the population. However, if the most recent studies have only eighty particpants with seventy five participants experiencing such headaches, that would yield to nearly 94% of the particpants. As portrayed, the number is much lower, but the rate is much higher. In order to aver this stance that the average headaches indeed did decline, the comparion of the rise and decline in headaches need to be determined using percentages rather than numbers.

Furthermore, even if we used percentages over numbers, we are only testing a certain percentage of the population. Are these indivudals who are a part of the study a good representative group for the whole society that the companies are planning to distribute their products to? The group of these indivudals could possibly all be people who are unemployed and do not have the work stress contributing to the devolpment of headaches. They could be single men and women who do not have children to worry about. They could also all be children who may tend to get less headaches compared to adults. They could be married elder people who are used to the work stress in life and are not susceptible to headaches. In order to judge if the salicylates are the reason for the decline in headaches based on the study, we need to make sure that the study is a good representation of the society targeted for marketing.

Finally, considering that the study incorporated a good representation of the market, we still have another question to ask. Do these indivudals preclude other activities that might contribute to lessened headaches? For instance, how do we know that the individuals who reported with decreased headaches solely obtained that with this certain chemical. Perhaps they started to exercise regularly, eat healthier, or drink much more water. These factors contribute significantly to decreased headaches. In order to determine if salicylates are the sole contributors to decreased headaches, we need to determine whether or not the participants are doing external activities that contribute to mitigating headaches.

In conclusion, before the companies decide to initiate incorporating salicylates in their products for profits based on the assumption that this chemical mitigates headches, we need to ask those three important questions.