A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The author concludes by predicting that residents of Mentia will have less headaches in future. He comes to this conclusion based on the findings of a twenty year study research. The writer's assertion might be true, but following three questions must be answered to determine the persuasiveness of the argument.

First of all, is the research conducted in a scientific way? There is a possibility that very few people were participated in the research and these number of people cannot be indicative of all people in Mentia. For example, if only ten people were studied, then the result obtained cannot be a common characteristics of millions of people living there. Also, the research may not be conducted by consummate people and they may not have taken other acounts for cause of headache in the studied members. For instance, the headaches in the members may have been caused by depression which was gradually overcomed by reduction of tension. If any of these are true, then the argument does not hold water.

Secondly, does Salicylates have common characteristics of aspirin? There is a possibility that Salicylates does not have any influence on decreasing headaches. Even though these two chemicals belong to same family aspirin may have a healing nature and salicylates may be neutral to harmful virus. Further, Salicylates may have more pernicuous effect than that of aspirin. Aspirin may be benign in other charateristics and can be safely used to cure headache but Salicylates may be malevolent to other parts of body. If any of these scenarios have merit, then the conclusion of the argument is significantly weakened.

Finally, will Salicyates used food be common among people? Perhaps the food in which Salicylates are used by food industries as flavor additives might not be liked by the people and there will be very less consumption of such foods. The Salicylates added food may have some amount of foul smell and also cannot give the exact flavor for food and are less choosen by people. Moreover, there is a chance that Salicylates are coslty for the food manufacturers and these may be used in very less amount on food that will not have any impact on curing people headache. These flavor used may only be surfacial and will not be adequate enough for reducing headaches. If any of these cases are the real ones, then the credibility of the argument is considerably hindered.

Thus, in conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is significantly flawed due to its reliance on unwarranted asssumptions. If the author is able to provide evidence to these three questions (perhaps based on systematic study approach), then the viability of the argument can fully be evaluated.