A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between

the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, foodprocessing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The argument that residents of mentia will suffer fewer headaches in future because food processing companies will begin adding salicylates to foods makes a number unwarranted assumptions. These unstated assumptions therefore requires some questions to be answered to determine the argument’s validity.

Firstly, the argument assumes salicylates has the same function with aspirin because they both belong to the same family. Being in the same family does not mean salicylates is suffiicient enough to replace aspirin in treating headaches. Also, the argument stated that many foods are naturally rich in salicylates. Then, if its true that salicylates is effective enough to cure headaches, residents of mentia will not experience headache at all. Thus, the author needs to aske about the function of salicylates. Is salicylates good enough to replace aspirin in the treatment of headache? Unless the questions are answered, assuming salicylates is a better replacement of aspirin is invalid.

Secondly, the argument assumes that the rise in the commercial use of salicylates has led to a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. This argument failed to examine the activities these participants partakes in that leads them to having headache. It also ignore other factors that might have led to the decline in headaches during the study duration such as participants using medicines to cure headache, participant having more rest than they used to before the beginning of the study. In other to determine the validity of the argument, the author needs to ask what other factors might have led to the decrease in headache of the participants during the study period. Did the participants had a change in their daily activities or did the participants started using drugs to relieve them of these headaches.

Thirdly, the argument assumes because salicylates will be added to foods by foodprocessing companies, residents of mentia will suffer fewer headaches in future. This author ignores the fact that food naturally contains salicylates. The addition of more salicylates might not yield any changes in the mentia residents rate of experiencing headache. It might even lead to more negative impact in the future. Thus, the author needs to ask if the addition of salicylates to foods will not lead to more harm on mentia residents in the future. The author also need to question the effectiveness of the addition more salicylates in foods since salicylates are naturally abundant in food.

In conclusion, the argument that residents of mentia will suffer fewer headaches in future because food processing companies will begin adding salicylates to foods makes a numerous unwarranted assumptions that needs some questions to be answered to determine its validity. The answers to these questions will therefore determine if the addition of salicylates is salubrious to the health of mentia residents or not.