A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

It although sounds convincing that some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future but is just a prediction with no cogent evidence to prove. The article above may show positive results but is nevertheless rife with holes and assumptions made by the author in order to support his or her saying. Some of which are stated below.

First of all, we know that this is study the talks about on headaches suffered by Mentia is a 20 yearlong study. The author yet fails to give some concrete details about it. For starters the sample space of the study is a key detail to be known. The age group that participated is another detail unknown. As a survey in boston showed that people with 60yeaars and more of age tend to suffer frequent headaches due to reasons as small as UV radiation from the sun. Also were the participants same throughout the process as aging also affects the results. Hence the author fails to give details about the people participating in the study.

Furthermore, the author assumes that treatment of headaches for everyone is common, which is use of Salicylates or aspirin which indeed are painkillers. Painkillers affect the nervous system and extensive consumption can lead to problems.

People might also have headaches dur to striking radiation due mobile towers and Sun’s heat in the area of Mentia. Hence the author surprisingly does not notify the reason behind the headache problem of residence of Mentia.

Moreover the author must answer whether the people in the study had a clear medical background. People with long causing migraines tend to complain about headaches too and also have different medication already prescribed other than aspirin/painkillers.

Lastly the prediction made is strongly dependent on the correlation between rise in commercial use of salicylates and steady decline in avarage headaches. But it cannot be trusted as the author does not answer whether the participants used any other treatment, did they consume the commercial products, what does commercial use signify?

The study may sound tempting and show a positive image of the commercial products, but If the answer to these questions tends toward negative response, then the study, the above article and the prediction hold no grounds and is completely irrelevant to the decrease in headaches.