"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

While it may be true that customers of Happy Pancake House do not distinguish butter from margarine and the study suggests a 98% of supportiveness the memorandum does not provide a cogent argument to support the Manager’s claim. The memorandum is rife with holes and instated assumptions considered by the Manager.

As Quoted by the manager the business of happy pancake house is a spread over the huge mass of southwestern Unites States. This covers over millions, if not thousands, of customers with variety of tastes and preferences. Keeping this in mind, and considering this fact, a sample space of 100 people cannot speak for the rest. The people in other restaurants may not adapt to the change and might prefer butter over margarine. This would divert the customers to other pancake alternative if not served butter as earlier.

Another flawed assumption is that the customers don’t complain meaning they like margarine over butter, whereas the reasons can vary. Pancake being a breakfast served food the people mostly consume during office hours mainly in a rush and hence they do not have time to complain over the butter-margarine issue. This is misunderstood as their preference.

considering, the complaints of the 2% people might not seem a larger mass in a sample space of 100. But if calculated the 2% of millions as sample space, it will make a huge loss for the company.

Finally, people not complaining might be because of no other competition present in the locality where happy Pancake House as its restaurant. But it cannot be neglected that there won't be in future. the next instance a new pancake shop/dine-in opens nearby, customers can walkaway from the Happy Pancake house for the new restaurant serving butter instead of margarine.

It is certainly tempting to conclude that margarine and butter is not distinguished and the decision of the happy pancake house company is making less of a change in the customer count and taste yet a detailed analysis reveals that the above stated flaws are possible and can make more of an impact on sales. hence conclusion by the manager holds no grounds.