The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Television shows in particular the news is what attracts or to says rolls eyes of everyone, irrespective to age groups. Everyone likes to be updated with day-to-day events and what else could be as effective as local news channels. it may end up true that localities prefer local news, and weather report over national news the author fails to give a cogent argument of his position. The memo is rife with holes and unstated assumption which very much decide the base of the argument.

As world has seen a drastic change within the last year amide the covid 19 situation, people’s perspectives and choices have flipped opposites.

First of all the author fails to state the exact number of complaints and their nature. Moreover, it is for sure that people will be interested in local news and weather report as that is what will be affecting them more.

Another flawed assumption considered is that the reason of local business to cancel the contracts is the national-local news issue, whereas this might not be the case. Due to lockdowns, decrease in GDP, local businesses have gone out of business and some shut down for life, making a valid reason for them to cancel the contract. However, if the channel reduces advertisement rates, increases payment duration, introduces payment in installments local business might reinstate their contracts.

Finally, the executive, before taking the decision, must conduct a survey with viewers, advertising businesses and all other stakeholders, asking relevant questions like what would they really want, what makes them prefer other channels over theirs. However, a followed research based on the results is necessary. This must be done in intervals of time to keep up with new trends/ preferences of the people securing the channel adequate revenue funds and advertisers.

The author certainly can conclude that to increase viewers local news and weather news coverage should increase but a further analysis over the unwarranted assumptions shows a different picture. Considering the mentioned flaws, the conclusion no longer holds grounds.