Educational institutions should dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position

t seems a negatively stated statement with a direct intention in betterment of students’ lives and might lead to straight agreement of many others but here by I disagree with it. It is cogent enough why yet the following points will help support my stance.

First of all, educational institutes are strictly for educational purposes. Students get capable enough with time and gain enough maturity to decide their future field of study and profession. Succes doesn’t only mean loading up bank accounts but satisfaction is also a key necessity. Some even follow their passion on a low pay scale but are satisfied and call themselves successful.

Moreover, if educational institutes implement the above policy they would not only be biased and may cause a negative impact on students’ life and career. Students should be given freedom of choice to choose the career that suits them and additionally given a supporting hand by their parents, teachers and institutes. One someone loves his work he undoubtedly aces in it with excellence.

This policy also depends on what does successful field of study lists. And the lists is for sure changing as the generations change. In country like India where people uphold stereotypes to a next level, students would be either doctors or engineers as these fields are classified under successful. For example the pay scale of a real artist has seen an exponential growth over the years and is now a SUCCESSFUL profession and passion.

Lastly the policy not only discourages but also scares students. It scares them if burden and lack of motivation. Hence the implementation might lead to medical problems of depression blaming the educational institute.

The statement can save some lives of student helping them choose a better alternative but would affect large masses of students in worse manner. Hence to conclude and avoid unpleasant consequences ahead the policy should not be implemented in any educational institutes throughout the world.