Two years ago, radio station WCQP in Rockville decided to increase the number of call-in advice programs that it broadcast; since that time, its share of the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased significantly. Given WCQP's recent success with call-in advice programming, and citing a nationwide survey indicating that many radio listeners are quite interested in such programs, the station manager of KICK in Medway recommends that KICK include more call-in advice programs in an attempt to gain a larger audience share in its listening area.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

While it may seem completely direct that the WCQP introduced call in advice program tends to attract more radio audiences in Rockville. Although the premise shows a direct relation and henc will be recommended to other stations, it is not cogent that how does this only factor stand alone in the increase of audience. Moreover, the premise is rife with holes and unstated assumptions that make me question the sanity of the derived conclusion by WCQP.

It is clear that the call-in advice programs increased the audience, whereas this is just one of the multiple reasons why it increased. Mainly the author has considered Rockville the representative of other parts of the world. Clearly it is not the actual case. The author here fails to answer two important questions. One being, Are the shows using call-in program the same in the last two years? And what are the exact number of shows using call in program? This will help use evaluate whether it is the show that people like. Nevertheless, we must question exact participation % of people against the population of Rockville.

Another flaw being, the author fails to give details about the audience that takes part in the call-in program. Like for say, what age group do most of the public belongs, which age group shows highest involvement and why? These questions will help new stations like KICK to adapt to call in programs and they will know what audience segment to cater to. For example, if Rockville has more of teenagers participating and Medway has more of aged people in town then call-in programs might not come handy aged people are less of tech- savvy and some might not consider calling the station for entertainment pleasures.

The station manager at Medway must take a survey asking all above questions along with how do people like the current facilities and will they adapt a new one? Will they be supportive as a nationwide survey might not be true for Medway people? there might be the one who voted against in these kind of programs in majority in Medway. This might affect KICK and its success.

The above-mentioned flaws, questions and assumptions need to be answered and taken in consideration by all who use this recommendation and intend to use call-in programs at their stations.