A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The health experts predict that Mentia’s citizens’ headache rate will decrease. To justify their prediction, they use a recently study on the relationship between the headache rate of the residents of Mentia and consuming salicylates. The argument distorts the actual facts and uses some unwarranted assumptions. Therefore, the author should answer to some important questions to evaluate the prediction more accurate.

First of all, the author claims that salicylates are useful to reduce the headaches of the residents of Mentia because salicylates are the member of the same chemical family as aspirin. However, being in a same chemical family is the same as being effective to treat headaches? There are so many similar chemical family members that use in different diseases. There is no guarantee that salicylates can help to reduce headaches. Therefor, answering this question would change the prediction mentioned in the argument.

Moreover, has the twenty-year study examine any side effects for consuming salicylates? Is it safe to eat preserved foods using salicylates? How many doses of salicylates would be safe to consume? The study has not provided any piece of evidence regarding the safety of consuming salicylates. If this chemical is harmful to consume, especially, more than a specific amount, then residents of Mentia would suffer other diseases. Also, are there any other factor which could help reducing the headaches of the residents? Maybe, during these twenty years, the residents’ economical situations have become better, consequently, their stress levels have declined which could help them to suffer headaches less than before. Since, the stressful lifestyle is another reason for the headaches. Hence, answering these questions will evaluate the prediction better.

Finally, did the study conduct under the supervision of the medical experts? Possibly, the food processing companies have conducted this study to convince that their products are useful for the residents of Mentia. Only a commercial purpose behind the study would endanger the residents of Mentia’s health. Without answer to this question, the author cannot validate the prediction.

All in all, the argument, as it stands now, is flawed due to the considerable lack of concrete evidence. The author should answer to the pointed questions to be able to evaluate the prediction mentioned in the argument.