A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The passage makes a prediction that the pervasive use of salicylates will lessen the number of headaches experienced by residents of Mentia, based on the longitudinal study that discovered a correlation between the rise of commercial use of salicylates and the gradual decline of headaches reported by the subjects. However, it is difficult to evaluate the prediction due to the loose connection between the two central variables and the vague descriptions of the study and dosage of salicylates.

In order to assess the prediction, one must first question whether salicylates truly have a therapeutic effect on headaches. In the presented passage, the only statement that supports the connection between salicylates and headaches is that of salicylates being in the same chemical family as aspirin. However, not all chemicals of the same family have the same characteristics. For example, methanol and ethanol are of the alcohol family, but methanol is toxic, while ethanol is drinkable. Therefore, additional information, such as results from experimental research, which proves that salicylates and aspirin share the same properties and supposedly the same treatment effect, can help evaluate the validity of the study on which the prediction is based.

Second, since the study has been conducted for an extensive period, one should have a suspicion about other variables that could have affected the decline of reported headaches other than salicylates. This is related to the design of the study, whether it has been rigid and effective in controlling spurious variables. Headaches are often related to various factors, such as stress, mental or physical illness, weather and many more. Therefore, to consider the research conclusion reasonable and thorough, more information about the study design and process must be presented.

Third, it seems that necessary details, such as proper dosage and diet, required to predict the outcome of increased use of salicylate on residents of Mentia with headaches, are absent. Even for ingesting aspirin, there is a proper dosage for the optimal effect of pain relief; sometimes, overdose may have side-effects, while underdose may be ineffective. Also, in order to assume that all residents of Mentia will benefit from the increased consumption of salicylates, information on which companies use them in their food products must be presented. Without these details, the prediction cannot be held true as residents may take the improper amount or consume products without salicylates to begin with.

Although based on a study with twenty years of data, the conclusion and prediction lack certain information crucial to its evaluation. In order to enhance the validity and plausibility, the aspects regarding the relation between the two variables and details on the specifics of the study must be delineated.