Essay topics:

The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The manager of the Happy Pancake House claims that changing butter to margarine had little impact on customers based on two insufficient facts. His explanation are not sufficient to back up his claim because there could be other alternative explanations that could better address the reaction of customers.

According to the manager, only 2 percent of the customers complained, and as the rest has not, he thinks the rest are happy about the change. However, not expressing one's complaint is inequivalent to being satisfied, and unless the manager asks the 98 percent of customers about their satisfaction about the recent experience at the restaurant, he has no other way to figure out how they think. In other words, the customers may have discussed the new change with their friends or other rating apps, just not on the platform that the manager has access to. They could have considered the change as a one time event or just decided to use a different restaurant.

Similar to this, the reports by servers are not presenting the actual thought of customers but just their own assumptions. The customers may have not recongized that what they received was margarine or may have considered it too trifle to complain. However, whether they knew about the change or not, the servers cannot know unless they directly ask them or observed their reaction. In other words, the fact that customers did not complain is not sufficient to substantiate the claim of the manager.

Lastly, the manager states that the customers do not distinsuigh butter from margarine based on the fact that they did not point it out. Considering that butter and margarine has similar taste and shape, it is difficult to tell the different. In addition, margarine is supposed to be similar to butter, despite the fact that it is made of vegetable oil. Therefore, it is not only wrong to use the logic that customers do not distinguish the two but also erroneous to say that the customers use the word butter to mean butter or margarine.

In conclusion, the manager has used insufficient explanation based on pure assumptions as the basis to claim that the change had no impact on customers. He did not consider alternative explanations that could better explain the low percentage of complaints.