The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The manager of the Happy Pancake House claims that replacing butter by margarine has not impacted customers as they seem to not distinguish the two. However, the two evidence that the manager presents as proof are not sufficient to explain the reactions of customers. The explanations are simply assumptions that do not indicate the real thoughts of customers.

Just because only 2 percent of the customers complained does not mean that the rest are satisfied with the change. The customers may have noticed that something was different or was unsafisfied but did not express their opinions. The manager did not indicate how and where the complaint was indicated, but the customers may have not used the platform or participated in the survey that the manager is talking about. As many people use rating apps or post on instagram regarding food or restaurant recommendations, they might have posted their thoughts there instead. Regardless of what they thought, the manager is clearly assuming what they really think.

The reports by servers are also mere assumptions that the customers do not mind or care whether they are served butter or margarine. However, many people refrain from complaining to servers about the taste of food or change in ingredient because they think it is rude and the servers do not have any authority to change anything. Customers may have not liked the change but considered it as a one-time change due to shortage of butter. If the servers have told them about the change and asked what they thought, the customers might have indicated their preference.

While the facts presented were weak and unrelated to the actual thoughts of customers, they way the facts were collected also undermine the arguement of the manager. As the manager only talks about the percentage, there is no way to know the entire sample size of the data. The data could have been limited to a small number of customers or collected before the change was implemented. This would undermine the value of the data. The way the servers attended to the customers is also problematic. Although not indicated in the passage, the customers may have been led to believe that they recieved butter, and therfore, thought they were having butter. In other words, there are many ways to explain why the customers did not complain.

To sum up, the claim of the manager is simply based on assumptions and weak facts, making his points useless. Unless the data is backed up with additional information, it cannot be good reason to think that 98 percent of the customers are happy with having margarine. Also, the customers at restaurants should be informed about the change before their thoughts were collected to evaluate the outcome of the new change.