"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving h

The author suggests that the WWAC radio station should change from a rock music format to a news and talk format. The reason he states is that there has been a decline in the number of listeners despite the increase in the population growth. The assumptions that are made in the memorandum provided by the manager of WWAC radio station is full of inappropriate assumptions.

Although there has been a population growth but as specified by the author it is mainly of people moving after their retirement does not necessarily mean that people would have their likings towards news and talk format. Different people can have their own likings and preferences which could differ. There can be some form of surveys that could have been conducted to validate and make these assumptions more certain.

There can be various other reasons for the downfall of the popularity of the rock music format of radio show. There might not be popular music as much as it used to be before. There could various other forms of music that people might have gained interest in and must have started listening to. In such case moving towards news or talk format will not be a wise decision.

It could be that listeners might be busy with other activities presently. To cite an example, it could be the higher percentage of listeners are teenagers who are having their exams for a certain period of time. Thus, there might have been a decline in the percetage which will not be permanent for a long period of time.

Thus the argument does not carry much weight in terms of validity of assumptions that are put up. There can be surveys that can be carried out which will help the radio station to take a better decision as to stay with the rock misuci format or change to news and talk formats.