"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving h

A first glance on the argument presented by the author here seems to be convincing, however, further digging of the topic is necessary to help us to take a stand on whether the WWAC should alter their pattern of radio style from music to more of a news or talks or not.

Firstly, evidence that is needed to evaluate the argument is the reason of the decline in the listener numbers of the WWAC radio station. If it is the case that there is another radio station or stations in the same area which play songs of other genres or a variety of genres instead of only rock music, the listeners might be prefering those stations than WWAC. This evidence, if true, would weaken the assumption that there's less interest for music in the area and that WWAC shouldswitch to news or talk programs.

Secondly, the suggestion that the switch to the music format tailored to the tastes of the retired people which has moved to the city, sounds logical, because, it is quite natural that most of the senior citizen would not prefer rock music genre much. The author further states the reports which present a decline in the sales of local music recordings and concludes that this is by far the reason people are not interested in music. However, there is not a logical bridge between the two. Decline in the sales of local music does not prove that the people of the city or area are not interested in music anymore. We need to evaluate furhter what is the cause of decline in sales of music. It might be the case that people are not buying local music, but prefer some other regional music or if not, they prefer listening to the music online instead of purchasing. If this is true, would again weaken the argument that the WWAC channel should shift their genre to news.

Furthermore, If it is the case that the people do not purchase any of the music at all, this would suggest that there is really a decline in the taste of music and the author's judgement would be strengthend in that case. Moreover, we need to evaluate more considering all the factors above like music taste of different age group people, reason for the decline in the sale of music etc.

In conclusion, these evidences need to be examined in order to make author's argument strong.