To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving th

More data and researches should be released to strengthen the recommendation that a news and talk format will be a better choice for WWAC radio station to increase listeners. Otherwise, the argument lacks sufficient reinforcement, and consequently, the recommendation is invalid.

Surveys should be launched by the managers of WWAC radio station to figure out whether the decline of radio listeners is attributable to retirees’ dislike of rock music although the number of retirees has incremented. If the results of surveys show that retirees listen to rock music in TV or on internet or other radio stations, it does not mean that they do not like the rock music format but WWAC’s rock music station are not so intriguing to listeners. Therefore, changing to news and talk format cannot being dragged out of the dilemma of reduction in listener numbers. To strengthen their recommendation, they must justify retirees lose interest in rock music and like new and talk format.

Secondly, more information should be given to prove that consistent dwindling in local sales of recorded music stands for people less interest in music, especially rock music. The author presumes that they do have limited passion on all music types including rock music than before. Therefore, music formats do not tailor to local market, instead, news and talk format must reverse the decline of listener numbers. Unless wars or the ends of day loom in, music might be the most popular recreational way for most people, which means that they might still fascinated in music. Less records in the local market might be interpreted that people are buying records on music APPs and buying concert tickets, particularly, for rock music. Hence, the reason behind decreasing record sales might not be outdated and unpopular.

Thirdly, speculating that local people have descending fascination towards music, more testimonies should be delivered by the manager of WWAC on how the news and talk format can allure more local people to stay beside WWAC radio station. Confidence might be from a phenomenon that it is increasingly popular in local area, however, they should investigate whether other rival radio stations have the same program and have accumulated a larger base of listeners. If so, they should give a second thought whether WWAC can defeat over others. Only when they have more competent anchors and adequate advertisement to endorse themselves might they draw some people to listen the news and talks formats in WWAC. Otherwise, it might be more disastrous loss than maintaining the rock-music format.

To conclude it, the manager should give more evidence to warrant the rock-music and other music formats does not cater to local people’s taste, but news and talk format can. Evidence might show that retirees and more others are not fond of rock music, and even all music genres.