To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

The author conclusion of switching to a news and talk format from the rock-music format is based on many ambiguous assumptions and fails to mentioned several factors on basis of hich it could be evaluated. The conclusion of the argument relies on assumptions for which there is no clear evidence. Hence, the argument is unconvincing and has several flaws.

Firstly, the decline in interest in rock-music format due to old age people moving to the city after the retirement. The number of retired people are not mentioned. It may also be the case that the trend of other people is changing and people like to listen to other genres. The deriving conclusion from the number of retired people is baseless and a proper survey can be done to research about the people interest.

Secondly, the author suggests that people are buying less recorded music concludes to people are less interested in music. The conclusion is not fully supported by the argument mentioned by the author. The resident might consume the music through different formats like listening to music online or through radios and many residents don’t want to invest their money to buy the recorded music. Hence, limiting the music format in the radio as is not completely backed by the assumptions.

Thirdly, the assumption that listeners listening to the news or talk format is increasing popular in the area concluded to stop the music format is inaccurate.The word popular is vague and it doesn’t show how many people are listening to the news format and what time duration are people listening to the news format. It could be case that there is only one such news and talk show, which would lead to more people listening to the same at a same time. Or only one group of people are highly interested in such format. The proper research or survey could strength the authors argument.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed due to the above mentioned resaon and therfore implausible. It could be considerably strenghthen if the author clearly mentioned all the relevant facts to support the conclusion that the company need to completely change the format to news or talk shows instead of music shows.