Several charitable organizations in Pleasantville provide opportunities for teenagers to engage in community service These organizations have a great need for volunteers but in recent years the number of teenage volunteers has significantly declined Th

The argument asserts that Pleasantville charitable organizations provide opportunities for teenagers to engage in community service. It claims to have a significant decline in the number of teenage volunteers and requests the Pleasantville school board to take measures in order to increase the number of volunteers. The argument holds unwarranted assumptions about the school teenagers to mandatorily complete the program for about 40 hours prior to graduation. There are significant facts that need to be analyzed before engaging school students in community service.

To begin with, is Pleasantville school board the only school that is present in the community? The author failed to mention about the engagement from the other schools in the locality. If Pleasantville school teenagers participated the highest compared to the other schools, then the argument regarding the school students do not substantiate enough.

Although, the teachers, parents and other community members agree with the value of community service, it is the students who must have the innate predilection for community service. People cannot achieve a service by force. In case, the students of Pleasantville were associated with some other activities like sports, extra curricular and academics, they fail to allocate time for community service which they are very least bothered about. What if the teenagers had many priorities ahead? A community service is a secondary option for most of the students. Only a meagre amount of students participate.

Creating a new rule about completing the 40 hours of community service compulsory prior to graduation cannot assure about the willingness of the students to participate wholeheartedly. For instance, an unwilling teenager can be frustrated to a level that he/she can be ferocious in rendering service to the community which is not a good manner to deal with. A commitment towards the charity is not going to be developed by intense pressure. Conversely, the charitable organizations will incur loss to their insights and be drastically affected by the student's frivolous behavior.

Being said the reasons, teenagers being the most vulnerable part of the society must be handled with care. They are like gossamer butterfly wings who can easily break apart when pushed or pulled by force. Thus, the argument seems fallacious with most of the facts and is just a theory that is being said without any pragmatic approach.