"Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase — and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary."

The argument states that there is a more pervasive feeling of conservation of energy among home owners as well as manufacturers also new technology is being used for finding solution to reduce energy required for home heating on the basis of it the argument concludes that the demand for electricity will not increase rather decrease and because of which the the current supply will be sufficient to meet the future requirement and as a result three new generating plants will not be necessary. The argument makes a number of unwarranted claims regarding the consumptions of energy and the positive outcomes of new technology which seems fallacious.

Firstly, The argument presents the result of a survey which home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy which is seems untrue as majority of people are not concerned with consevation of energy rather they want cut on their cost and have a personal vendatta in it. Though their is a increase in the efficiency of home appliances but overall number of increase in number of appliances which ultimately compensates for the efficiency increase of applications thus the enery consumptions increase highly.

Secondly, The technology used for home insulation and passive solar heating though are readily available does not indicate energy onsumption in creating such products the other fails to account for the factors other than just direct energy consumption by these products. also these new technology contributes to environmental issue which are created by production of such technology thus cause other environmental issues.

Finally, The argument states that the total demand of electricty will not increase and may even decline which sound dubious given the rapid rise in poplulation the city and increasing in amount of electronics used by people will probably cause rise in use of energy. also other inventions uses energy such as electric cars. The pervasive use of such cars will increase the consumption of energy which the argument fails to account. also makes an assumption that as past energy requirment was matched. therefore the future requirement will be met which is not true as the consumption will probably increase from other sources also.

Furthermore, the argument claims that three power plants are adequate to meet the requirements but does not consider the fact that the efficiency of the three power plants is gradually decreasing because of wearing out and hence may not even meet current requirement therefore new powerplants may be needed.

In conclusion, The argument as it seems falls apart, the argument is not backed evidence and requires further comprehensive evaluation based on which future decision are to be taken. the current argument fails to account for many pertinent issues related to the topic which should be considered before moving forward.