The Smith Corporation should not be permitted to develop the land that is now part of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. This sanctuary is essential to the survival of the 300 bird species that live in our area. Although only a small percentage of the land will be sold to Smith, the proposed development will have disastrous consequences for our area. The company plans to build a small hotel on the land. Although they have promised to ensure the preservation of the sanctuary, there is no way that their plans will do anything but harm the sanctuary. There are no circumstances under which this sale will benefit our community, which relies on tourists who visits primarily to see our magnificent bird population.

There are many loopholes to the argument as it relies on many assumptions whose authenticity seems dubious.

The petition that is sent to the residents of Youngtown by an environmental protection group states that the permission should be denied to Smith Corporation to develop the land as it is now part of Youngtown Wildlife preserve which is home to several bird species. It rests on the claim that the development will have disastrous consequences for the area. But none of the consequences are stated. It also goes counter with the fact that only a small percentage of the land will be sold to Smith. If only a small portion is being sold then generally its repercussions will also be small if any i.e. it will not pose as a grave danger to the sanctuary.

The plan of the company is to build a small hotel and they have also promised the ensure the preservation of the sanctuary. If a promise has been made than how can the environmental protection group know for sure that the company's only outcome will be to harm the sanctuary? Without stating any of the consequences of this project it is hard to belive on this statement.

The Smith Corporation is going to build a small hotel, now that hotel will be aiding to the number of tourist that will visit the sanctuary rather than hampering the influx. As tourist will find a place to stay near the sanctuary it will rather help them to have a better tour of the sanctuary and that will in turn attract more tourist. So the assertion that under no cirsumstances the sale will benefit the community is really counter intuitive.

Hence due all the flaws mentioned above the claim made by the environmental protection group seems quite flawed. If more information was given regarding the harmful effects that the Smith Corporation's hotel was going to bring with proper justification then it might have been a totally different scenario. But as of now the argument seems unwarrented.