The following was used as part of an internet advertising company's appeal to businesses: Furniture Depot employed our internet advertising company to help. Since then its sales increased by 10% over last year's totals. Furniture Depot's success demonstrates how using our internet services can increase your profitability.

There are many unstated assumptions and leaps in the logical flow of the arguement which makes it seems specious.

First of all, although it states that the sales increased by 10% over the last year's totals but it does not shed light on what has been the rate of increase of sales for the previous years. It might have been possible that previous year's increase was 30% which implies that the company's annual rate of increase of sales has taken a dip.

Next, the contribution of internet advertising company in the increase of sales is also not mentioned. It may have been possible that the advertising company had nothing to do with the sales at all. May be it was all due to the introduction of a new item in the inventory that resulted into the increase of sales. Or may be because of a new sales scheme that they introduced which resulted in attracting more customers. Hence, there could have been several other reasons for the increase in sales.

The internet advertising company also doesn't state specifically what kind advertising does it do. It might be the case that they advertise only a limited amount of products or just the name of the furniture depot. In which case it may not be contributing much to the increase in the sales.

Specifications regarding the content of advertisement would have made their claim a little stronger. Also stating the facts regarding how much of the increase in sales was due to internet and what were the major products that sold on internet would have bolstered their claim.

Hence, due to the above mentioned reasons the arguement presented is flawed.