Seniority (years of service) should not be the basis of employee compensation. Employees should be promoted and given raises solely on the basis of their work performance and merit. That is a better way to encourage high productivity

Issue presented above states that the promotion of employee should only be based on their performance and merit, and not considering the years of service that he has done. This means that regardless of how young or old you are, you stand an equal chance to grab the promotion given that you present with the required performace and also carry with you the necessary merit. Which is in turn fair.

Work performance does not only display the actual skills that an employee possess, but also gives the proof that the employee is able to put his skills into work. A sales employee can best be evaluated on the basis of number of products that he sold. Not merely on just how many years has that employee been working. Also merit is the written and verified proof that speaks for the employee's skills.

As an employee starts getting used to the work that he has been doing, as he gains years of service, then that work doesn't appeal to the employee as much as it used to do in the begining. The employee starts looking at his job as a monotonous work which put offs the fire that was burning in him initially. The perfect example for this reason is the employee working in the government office since many years. To get some work done from that employee takes a toll of the customer. Also, some of the work profressions, such as manual labour have proclivity towards a young employee rather than an aged employee. Because a young employee will have the required energy of the manual work. On the other hand, years of experience of a senior worker will not be of any advantage to the job. As the requirement of the job is different

Although, on the other hand, seniority plays a crucial role in gathering wisdom depending upon the sector that emplyee is working . Employee those have been working since many years know all the corners of that work. Their several years of experience can come in hand during the times of difficult situation which a rookie might not be able to handle.

As we can see from the above arguments, the pros outwiegh the cons of the issue. But rather that totally rejecting the seniority as a factor and solely focusing on the work performance and merit, one should keep look at a weighted view of all the factors depending on the type of work. This will be the best of both worlds.