Some people believe that in order to thrive, a society must put its own overall success before the well-being of its individual citizens. Others believe that the well-being of a society can only be measured by the general welfare of all its people.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The given paragraph describes the Vitamin A deficiency among the people in the impoverished nation of Tagus. The author recommends the government of Targus that it should promote the new type of millet which international development organization has engineered which would help the solve the vitamin A deficiency among the people of Tagus.

The international development organization clearly suggests that the cost of this new breed of millet will be more when compared to one which is currently in the market. Though it is stated that the farmers will the provided the subsidies, the end customers are not taken into consideration here. The increase in price might have a direct impact on the end customers. As the government main intention is to improve the health conditions of the citizens they should provide subsidies to the end customers too. If not there are more chances that people would not be interested in buying this new variety of millet.

Also, the author assumes that since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. But this assumption doesn't hold good all the time. There are chances that people may show hesitant in adopting to the new variety. In that case, the ultimate aim of the government will never be achievable.

The author also assumes that the use of new type of millet will be the only way to handle this situation in Tagus. But there might be chances that the new type of millet which is promoted by international development organization might be playing a role in promoting their product in Targus indirectly.

The use of this new variety of millet may help in improving the health condition among the people in Tagus, but there are so many unanswered questions stated above which the author has to justify to strengthen his position on this.