Educators should take students' interests into account when planning the content of the courses they teach.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The recommendation here states that the educators should take students interests into account when planning the content of the courses they teach. I strongly agree with the above recommendation. The only way an educator can enlighten the life of the student is by teaching him the courses whichever he is interested at. Stressing the students to study the subjects which are no way related to what they are expecting to learn is not going to help the student in any way other than to score a pass mark and clear the degree which is not what is expected from both the student and the educators.

When the syllabus is formed in such a way that it focuses mainly on the student's topic of interest there is a very good chance of students being very attentive in the class. Which ultimately means that the students are highly motivated to learn the subject helping them in scoring good grades along with the knowledge of the subject. This also helps the students increase their love towards the subject which will help them in achieving a higher level in their field of interest. If the syllabus is formed in such a way that it includes subjects which are irrelevant to what the students are interested in learning will lessen the interest of learning the subject. This may even have an adverse effect on the subject which they are interested in learning. For example if an engineering student who is interested in learning about the computer networking and security if made to study more on a subject which has less relevance to his interest, say software testing has fewer chances of scoring poor grades in software testing subject which might morally bring him down affecting his performance on computer networking and security too. In contrast, if the syllabus is formed in such a way that it includes all the computer network and security related stuff will help the student to take up the course with the higher degree of interest, helping him to acquire deeper knowledge on the subject. One day he might be a great asset in that field of study too.

However, framing syllabus only based on students interest also have few negatives. Not all the students have the same topics of interest. This will be a big barrier in creating a combined syllabus for the class as each and everyone cannot have a different syllabus. Also, there is a need to know at least the basics of other subjects. But this should not be the only point to be considered while creating the syllabus. A syllabus can be formed covering the very basics of other subjects but importance has to be given to the students topic of interest.

As covered in the above paragraphs it is very important to frame a syllabus in such a way that it mainly concentrates on the student's field of interest along with the basics of other subjects. This will certainly help students to be more involved towards their studies.