The best ideas arise from a passionate interest in commonplace things.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement states that the best ideas arise from a passionate interest in commonplace things. I strongly agree with the statement. The inventions invented till date are done only by people who had a passionate interest in what they were doing. This is a clear evidence that the people who are passionate in what they do reach higher levels

All the activities which we do in our day to day life can be classified into two type with respect to the statement we are discussing on. The first one is the work which we do with passionate interest and the other one is the work done without passionate interest. The type of work is where the person shows a lot of commitment towards the work he does. The reason behind this is very simple. He loves what he does. Only when the work is done with such amount of commitment and love produces intended results. This could be explained with the below example. This scenario mostly prevails in India where the students are forced to take engineering after their schooling. The main reason to be blamed for this trend is due to the job opportunities. And also the students are forced to choose computer science or electronics and communications as their majors in engineering. This is again due to the reason stated above. Students’ interest is never considered by their parents. Due to this student who are forced to join the engineering without any interest only tries to pass the exams than to really study or learn the course. If the students are given an opportunity to choose their education, then there are very good chances of students to show a lot of interest towards their subject leading them to think out of the syllabus. This ultimately helps them in achieving higher levels by implementing ideas which arise from the passionate interest shown towards the studies. Another example to explain this is when students from different background like mechanical engineering are forced to work in IT companies without much of an interest. Expecting good outputs from such employees is very ambitious for the company as they have no interest in what they are doing.

However, sometimes out of the box ideas arises even when you are not passionate towards doing it. The CEO of Microsoft once stated that he will more likely hire a lazy person than the intelligent person because a lazy person will always find a way to solve a problem using shortcuts. This scenario is true where a lazy person though not passionate towards his work is more likely find a way to finish the job by using any of the shortcuts in getting the job done. Though this is done as a result of lack of interest in the field of work but still this produces desired results. Though this case holds true here but on a majority, best ideas arises only when passionate interest is shown.

As stated in the above paragraphs, the best ideas are more likely to arise only when a person is passionate towards what he is doing. In absence of that expecting someone to do something will never result in good output.