As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement states that when people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of the humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate. I strongly disagree with the given statement. Technology which is available today is only due to the human brains behind it. Moreover the people who are benefitted out of this are making use of the technology to reach greater level.

First, technology which is available to the general public gives them a new opportunity to learn new things which were not possible earlier. To state this with an example, we will discuss about the role of internet in our day to day life. 20 years ago when the internet was not available, people in order to learn something new, had to go to libraries. Not all the times you will get the required information from general libraries. In such cases people had to travel to different places to gather required information which would be useful for their studies or for their research. But after the internet came into picture, gathering information on any topic in the world can be done within seconds. This helps the people of current generation to make use of this technology to get information from various sources all over the world. This certainly helps people in saving their precious time on gathering information and utilizing the time in going deeper into the understanding of the subject.

Secondly, technology has given us the opportunity to connect people from different part of the world. This certainly helps the people of this generation in multiple ways. With technologies such as Skype, where video calling to any person in any part of the world is made possible, has been a great gift to the people. This helps people in connecting with someone from other part of the world with similar minds. This has given way to work together from two extremes of the world without actually being together.

Technologies only aim is to make human life easier. And that is where is technology is heading to. When technology has always helped human in one or the other way, it has certainly helped in helping the ability of humans to think to a different level which would have not been possible without the technology advancements. Hence technology will never be a reason for deterioration of the ability of humans to think for themselves.