The citizens of Forsythe have adopted more healthful lifestyles. Their responses to a recent survey show that in their eating habits they conform more closely to government nutritional recommendations than they did ten years ago. Furthermore, there has been a fourfold increase in sales of food products containing kiran, a substance that a scientific study has shown reduces cholesterol. This trend is also evident in reduced sales of sulia, a food that few of the healthiest citizens regularly eat.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The given paragraph which appeared in the health magazine states that the citizen of Forsythe has adopted more healthful lifestyles. Also, they have adopted the eating habits recommended by the government. This is also evident from the fourfold increase in sales of food products containing kiran, a substance which reduces cholesterol. The conclusion made out of this statement by the author is that the sales of sulia, which is a food that few of the most healthy citizens regularly eat have reduced only due the change in the lifestyle and the adoption of the government nutritional recommendations and the increase in the food product containing kiran. The author has not taken into multiple scenarios which would have been the reason behind the decrease in the sales of sulia which is explained in the below paragraphs.

Sulia, which has been used by few of the most healthy citizens in the past might not have given the desired result. As the citizens were actively looking for adopting more healthful lifestyles, the news about the sulia would have spread all over the Forsythe about the outcome of using the product. This would have created a negative impact on the sales of sulia. Also if the few of the most healthy citizens who were regularly eating sulia had any side effects on using it would have added oil to the fire.

Meanwhile, the food products which were containing kiran would have had an upper hand in the interest shown by the citizens of Forsythe as the people were actively adopting more healthful lifestyles. In a general scenario like this where kiran was having an upper hand when compared to sulia, food products containing kiran would have strongly advertised their products to the people. As a normal human being when you are aware that the sulia isn't producing intended results, when you see a new similar product being strongly advertised all over the place, will have the interest to try the new product. This mentality would have spread across the place including the product dealers and shopkeepers. If the dealers and shopkeepers have shown more interest on kiran than sulia then this would have had a serious impact on the sales of sulia.

If the author has stressed upon the other evidence like sulia not producing the desired results, strong advertising by products containing kiran, dealers and shopkeepers who are one of the main reasons of good sales of a product preferred products using kiran than sulia ,.etc. the conclusion would have made more sense.