Educators should take students' interests into account when planning the content of the courses they teach.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Young minds are volatile and giving them complete power to decide their actions may not be justified in the long run. I primarily disagree with the question broached in the prompt. To give an analogy, imagine a world where kindergartners were allowed to do as they wish. Most parents would not be supportive of this idea. People want their toddlers to learn the alphabet, learn basic manners, etiquette and become better citizens. Of what good is it then, providing school or college-going students the privilege to influence the content of the courses they pursue?

The course content is to college students what the alphabets are to a toddler in kindergarten. Students must know the fundamentals of their area of study, whether it interests them or not. It is most often the case that students are swayed by publicity or a seemingly cool invention, to choose a particular course, imagining themselves mastering it soon. However, most of the intriguing applications of Mathematics and Science are built on foundations of relatively unappealing rules that one cannot omit from their studies.

Courses, especially at the school level, must be designed by subject experts and must conform to the ideals of the nation. For instance, if a history lesson were to be based on the collective opinion of the students that facts are boring, it would quickly turn into a mythology novel. Students finding the ideas of an oppressive regime such as that of Hitler’s in Germany intriguing, should not be able to sway the course content, as it would go against one of the most fundamental rights of a person in a democratic nation, free speech.

Allowing students interests to even partially influence the content of their courses can result in the students learning a delusionary form of the course where only what they seem fit is taught. They would never be challenged and as a result, never grow. This course would be reminiscent of an echo chamber where one’s own thoughts and opinions are amplified and bounced back to them. This might in turn convince a student to take up a college degree or enroll in a doctorate program only to find out later that their interest was on a specific flowery aspect of the course and that making a livelihood out of the subject requires tedious work and dedication which is often not very appealing.

Although there are certain courses where the majority of content is outdated and taking into account the students’ interests can be an easy way to clean the course of irrelevant content, the students’ suggestions must still be strictly evaluated to ensure that they do not change the fundamental nature of the course and that it remains what it was meant to be. It must be mentioned here that students must be free to choose courses as they wish. It is only the content of the course that they must not be able to greatly modify. Freedom to choose courses is a must for students and this is the main tool that they use to pave out their path in life.

Students must be able to choose paths in life such that what they are interested in most is the process and not the outcome. When one is devoted to the process, they feel less like an imposter, are more productive and the outcome that ensues is automatically successful.