SuperCorp recently moved its headquarters to Corporateville. The recent surge in the number of homeowners in Corporateville proves that Corporateville is a superior place to live than Middlesburg, the home of SuperCorp's original headquarters. Moreover, Middlesburg is a predominately urban area and according to an employee survey, SuperCorp has determined that its workers prefer to live in an area that is not urban. Finally, Corporateville has lower taxes than Middlesburg, making it not only a safer place to work but also a cheaper one. Therefore, Supercorp clearly made the best decision.

The decision taken by Supercorp to shift its headquarters, although motivated by some clear factors such as lower taxes and rising home ownership, also makes the tacit assumption that the cost of relocation for its employees is not significant.

Firstly, Supercorp has not considered the ramifications of relocation on the employees' families. The employees' children may have a tough time adjusting to a new school in a new locality. Finding a suitable doctor can be quite difficult, among various other adjustments. Secondly, Supercorp has assumed Corporateville to be a suburban area. However, this may not be true. The rise in home ownership in Corporateville could also mean that people are buying more apartments in the downtown area rather than the suburbs, not necessarily making this new city a superior place to live.

With Corporateville having lower taxes than Middlesburg, the company must also consider the quality of life of its employees. It must be ensured that Corporateville has an uninterrupted power and water supply and a fast internet connection, among other amenities. Employees' must not have to make a significant sacrifice in the quality of their surroundings when relocating. Finally, the implication that having lower taxes leads to safer living conditions needs to be thoroughly verified. Lower taxes could, on one hand, mean that there would be less poverty, leading to less crimes. But it could also indicate an area ideal for other similar companies to relocate to. This could prove to be detrimental to Supercorp as its employees would be eyeing the other similar organizations to shift to, when the right opportunity arrives.

Notwithstanding the fact that Corporateville may be a cheaper and better place to live, Supercorp needs to consider a variety of factors before asserting that it has indeed made the best decision.