Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible

Corporations inevitably degrade the environment in which they operate and it is their duty to promote the well-being of their society. A corporation that works only for profit is bound to fail.

Consider a factory that manufactures pesticides. The effluents of their industrial processes are usually dumped into nearby rivers, often without proper treatment of the waste. This can have deleterious effects on its surrounding environment. If a corporation focuses only on making profit, and does not spend time thinking about how it can properly treat and dispose off its waste, it will eventually lead to the insurrection of the residents in surrounding areas, causing the factory to be closed.

Pollution is not only caused by the stereotypical factories that one imagines, with tall, grey chimneys belching out smoke. Even a rather modern establishment such as a data center can cause harmful effects to its surroundings. A data center most often houses tens of thousands of computers that run continuously for years. This requires a colossal amount of electricity. Data center can minimize its environmental footprint by using renewable sources of energy to power their machines.

In some cases, the areas surrounding a corporation get developed automatically as a result of the corporations work. For example, a newly discovered coal mine in close proximity to a once isolated hamlet will aid in its development. This is mainly because a majority of the blue collar workers of the company will be living near the mines and they would need an adequate level of urbanization for the surrounding forested areas to be considered liveable. Similarly, Palo Alto was a rather sleepy town in California, prior to the computer science boom in the early 90’s. Today, Palo Alto is a high end neighbourhood with real estate costs being almost prohibitive. This is happened due to world famous tech giants such as Facebook and Microsoft, opening campuses near the area.

Nevertheless, it is still in a corporation’s best interest to develop the environment around it. It can be considered as an activity that sets the corporation’s moral compass in the right direction. This is evident from the environmental protection programs that are spearheaded by multinational companies such as general electric. Nowadays, being environmentally conscious has become a matter of prestige for large companies. No large industry wants to portray itself as a dystopian establishment, seeking to destroy nature in its quest for personal gain. Rather, companies are wary about their image in society, as it is a form of advertising and appealing to people’s subconscious thoughts.

I believe that it is every corporation’s duty to protect and nurture the environment that hosts it. If not for mother earth, we do not have a place to go and we must ensure that we are doing our best both as individuals and corporations to maintain our home.