The following appeared in a memo from a budget planner for the city of Grandview.

"It is time for the city of Grandview to stop funding the Grandview Symphony Orchestra. It is true that the symphony struggled financially for many years, but last year private contributions to the symphony increased by 200 percent and attendance at the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series doubled. In addition, the symphony has just announced an increase in ticket prices for next year. For these reasons, we recommend that the city eliminate funding for the Grandview Symphony Orchestra from next year's budget. We predict that the symphony will flourish in the years to come even without funding from the city."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author provides three reasons as to why government funding for the Grandview Symphony Orchestra should be stopped from next year. Running an Orchestra is a complex task involving several parameters of which finance is only a part. In order to estimate how likely it is that the budget planner’s prediction will be true, one would need to address the questions about the nature of private contributions to the Orchestra, the reasons behind the increase in ticket prices and the actual profit made by the Orchestra.

The author posits that private contributions to the symphony increased by 200 percent. However, the nature of these contributions must be evaluated. These private contributions may be, for instance, awards given to outstanding musicians of the symphony. If the contributions were not purely financial, then one cannot presume that the Orchestra is well-off because of the latter. Moreover, the actual amount of the contributions, if financial, need to be known. Minuscule private contributions even when doubled, may not be enough for the Orchestra to run independent of Government funding. It would be wise to consider decreasing the funding, rather than completely stopping it.

The recommendation highlights the fact that attendance for the symphony’s concerts-in-the-park series doubled. The author does not address whether the overall attendance for all of the Orchestra’s shows combined saw an increase. It could very well be the case that attendance doubled for some shows and halved for other, less popular shows and might even be indicative that the Symphony is witnessing an overall decline in attendance. A temporary increase in attendance may not be indicative that the symphony is on the path to prosperity. The budget planner has not considered other factors such as the possibility of a rival orchestra offering better shows for cheaper prices.

Depending on the city in which the shows are performed, the Orchestra may have to spend a great deal of funds in renting out a theatre. In places like New York City, theatres can charge exorbitantly high rates. This may be one of the reasons the Orchestra has decided to increase its ticket prices. One cannot come to a conclusion that the Orchestra is making huge profits by increasing its ticket prices. Rather, it might be the only way they know to make their concerts viable.

The prediction made in the memo is bold, in that it weighs a small number of factors heavily when making the prediction. One must realize that the success of any organization is driven by a mixture of several factors such as skill, public opinion and economic conditions. Only if the Orchestra is getting an increased profit as a result of the city funding, can it be cut down.