People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Decisions made in haste and anger have seldom been correct. I agree with the notion broached in the prompt that making decisions based on emotions and justifying them with logic at a later time results in poor decisions that may not be favorable to the decision maker.

Consider a standardized test such as the Graduate Record Examination. Test takers usually have to be objective when answering questions and ensure that their answers are not swayed by their transitory emotions at that time. Taking a test is basically equivalent to making a sequence of decisions. Students who take standardized tests are very familiar with how their state of mind influences their ability to think clearly. A question that may seem puzzling might actually be a result of of unnecessary clutter in the student's mind such as whether they will finish the section on time, or a nagging thought about a complex question that they previously encountered. At every point in the exam, one has to consider whether an option makes sense, and must try to follow a standard approach to remove the dependence of their scores on that environment and instead base it solely on their knowledge and problem solving skills. This is especially true for solving mathematics problems, which by nature, require a disinterested viewpoint in order to be discerned.

The importance of decision making cannot be more apparent than its role in politics and leadership. A good leader, for instance, is one who possesses a robust decision making methodology, by weighing in the multitude of factors that commonly arise in their problems. A CEO of a company who is on the verge of furloughing a large number of employees must think twice if there is a really convincing reason to do so. They must, for a moment, step outside their shoes and if possible, put themselves in the shoes of the others, consider an alternative viewpoint, before executing their plans. Adolf Hitler, albeit a tyrant was an effective leader due to his efficient decision making prowess. Even his decline can be attributed to the blunder of a decision - to invade Russia. Experts claim that this sudden move to invade what was at the time, a formidable nation, arose out of Hitler's incessant greed to increase his power and influence on Europe.

As a pupil of both a yoga and a meditation program, I have been frequently instructed by my tutors to refrain from making any significant decisions when I am angry or upset. One can find that their outlook on a problem often pulls an about-face once their negative emotions have subsided. They will ultimately be grateful for making the right move, even if it meant delaying the decision making process.

Decision making is prevalent in all walks of life. Whether professional or personal, making a sound decision is often the most important factor in determining the success of an individual or society. Logic, although a powerful tool, cannot repair the damage done by making a wrong decision driven by emotion.