Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Securing a job after graduating depends in part on the student’s abilities and a combination of various factors from the university’s side. The fact that graduates of Omega University were not able to secure jobs cannot simply be attributed to the new procedure that was introduced.

Firstly, the argument posits that the professors began to assign higher grades to students around the same time that a new system that allowed students to evaluate their professors’ teaching, was introduced. It is possible that the higher grades could have resulted from other factors such as, higher quality of teaching, better access to educational resources or advances in pedagogy with the help of newly introduced technology. The rise in the overall grade point of students could have also been an outcome of a new plan to reduce the coursework for students, started by the Department of Education. Omega University would need to further investigate the process by which students evaluate their professors. If anonymity is granted to students, it is reasonable to expect that at least some students would take advantage of it, and misuse their feedback.

From the argument, it is clear that employers believed that the students’ grades were inflated and could no longer be used to accurately gauge their knowledge. However, this may not be the sole reason preventing students from getting recruited. Employers usually use a holistic evaluation system where both the academic and practical aspects of a student’s experience are equally weighed. Moreover, the argument does not state that the employers declined the recruitment after only looking at the overall inflated grades.

One would need to consider the method used to estimate a University’s success in terms of the ability of its graduates to get jobs. A metric that is dependent on the number of students enrolled in the university would be inherently skewed, producing seemingly better results for institutions with a smaller student body. This may be the very reason, the nearby Alpha University’s graduates are found to have been more successful. It could be the case that Alpha University also allows its students to evaluate their faculty’s teaching performance and the same loop of assigning higher grades to obtain better feedback may be commonplace there.

There may be a variety of problems lying in between the newly introduced evaluation system and the students getting recruited by companies. An interplay between several factors influences students’ academic performance. Systematic studies, that include the ablation of a combination of factors can shed light on the real reasons behind the reduced recruitment of graduates at Omega University.