Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

To corroborate the claim that the so-called Palean baskets were not unique, one would need to consider the implications made in the argument. Firstly, the fact that the baskets were found near Palea does not necessarily imply that the Palean people wove them. Second, there is a presumption that a deep and broad river can only be crossed by boat. Finally, the baskets are assumed to be Palean, whereas it may have originated from the village across the river and reached Palea later on.

To evaluate the first claim, we would need to be sure that the Paleans indeed wove the baskets and that they were not transported from elsewhere. It could have been the case that another village situated in a hitherto undiscovered location was the origin of the baskets. This alternative source of the baskets may very well be Lithos, the village across the river, because of the remains of the ‘Palean’ baskets found there. In order to buttress the idea of this alternative source, archaeologists would need to search for instruments or machines that may have been used to weave the baskets in Lithos.

The argument posits that the only viable method of crossing a broad and deep river is a boat. Archaeologists wishing to weaken this claim may look for the remains of bridges or other similar structures near the river banks to suggest that the Paleans may have constructed small bridges, with locally available raw materials such as wood, to cross the river. On the contrary, the discovery of boats at the bottom of the Brim river would support the claim about the uniqueness of Palean baskets, although, one cannot guarantee the origin of the baskets as Palea.

An increase in the number of excavations in close proximity to the villages and the river Brim will prove to be beneficial to the Archaeologists. Not only will they stumble upon new evidence that may lead to radical changes in their hypothesis, they may also find the missing information that is key to validating their existing premises.