An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet. Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The international development organization's solution to vitamin A deficiency prevalent in the people of Tagus is commendable. Nevertheless, the government of Tagus must try to pose itself several questions before deciding to tout for the newly engineered breed of millet.

Firstly, why did the international organization choose millet, out of all grains, to infuse with vitamin A? It could very well be the case that there are other viable alternatives to millet or even other grains that are naturally rich sources of vitamin A. An investigation, probing into the nature of millet and the reason behind it being the grain of choice for the organization, must be conducted to gain insight. It is mentioned in the recommendation that the costs of cultivating the newly engineered grain will be subsidized. If the government of Tagus has to bear the expenses due to subsidies, it would help to first establish that there is an absolute benefit from investing in the new breed of millet and that no other solutions exist.

The recommendation presumes that vitamin A deficiency arises only due to the lack of consumption of foods rich in vitamin A. However, there could be a myriad of other reasons affecting the population of Tagus. One possibility is that the people of Tagus may be suffering from the effects of a disease that causes reduced absorption of vitamins in the body. It would be wise for the government to conduct medical examinations for its people, free of cost, to ensure that increasing the supply of vitamin A will certainly help them.

The prompt posits that finances are the only factor that drives farmers to cultivate a crop. In most countries, agriculture is a backbone of the economy and has deep rooted origins, intertwined with the traditions of the nation. It may be the case that farmers are unwilling to cultivate this newly engineered crop simply because of its seemingly contrived nature. Farmers may see it as a threat to their traditions, in which case, effective advertising by the government would be needed to assimilate the new crop.

Yet another presumption in the recommendation is that the people of Tagus will readily adopt the new millet, as it is their staple food. This discounts the possibility that infusing vitamin A, or augmenting its existing quantity in the grain will not affect its appearance, odor or taste. Images of staple foods are often ingrained in a nations' population and adopting a new grain different in either of the aspects mentioned above could prove to be challenging, as it would invoke a sense of foreign establishments penetrating their culture, even if it is for their ultimate welfare.

Bringing about a change in the staple food of a country is a colossal challenge. The government of Tagus must address all of the questions mentioned above before deciding to advance this Herculean task.