The best leaders are those who encourage feedback from the people whom they lead.

I believe that great leaders are those who dynamically shift their perspectives based on their followers' feedback. Leaders who constantly strive to meet their followers expectations are the ones that emerge at the top.

This is evident, considering Silicon Valley's top five companies. Google for instance, has a robust methodology of obtaining feedback from their employees. Workers are given anonymity when filling forms or surveys in the hope that it will motivate them to describe their true feelings about the company without fear of the repercussions of doing so. In sharp contrast, a leader who is not concerned about the thoughts of their followers is bound to fail. Hitler, a charismatic leader, through his persuasive speeches lead the German people to believe that the Jewish population was the root of all problems in Germany. Although an effective persuader, not once did Hitler solicit the people's thoughts on his hypothesis. The harrowing events that ensued in Germany and Hitler's eventual downfall can all be attributed to his dictatorial style of leadership.

A leader who encourages feedback must be wary of the people's mindset. They must know the level of education of the people and must know when and when not to listen to them. Consider for example, the issue of people against vaccination in many developed nations today. Although the reason they cite might seem legitimate, it is in their best interest to vaccinate their children. The leader of the nation in this case must realize that the people opposing vaccination do not know any better and often come from uneducated and underprivileged sections of the society.

Feedback, most often proves to be beneficial, in the sense that it may reveal certain things that would not have occured to the leader. It is well known that the knowledge of the crowd is superior and encouraging feedback may be one way of harnessing this knowledge. It is no surprise that China, while rapidly improving its economy and infrastructure has consistently dropped in its happiness index. The leadership is to be imputed for this. China's so-called democratic system consists of only one party that has ultimate power in what the country does. Feedback and any forms of art or media to provide feedback are quickly banned, in order to prevent people from expressing their opinions.

To be an effective leader, one must strive to work for their people and must periodically elicit a response from the people whom they lead. The leader is after all, the representative of the people and a leader who does not reflect the people's thoughts in their actions is destined to fail.