The following appeared in a memo from a budget planner for the city of Grandview.

"It is time for the city of Grandview to stop funding the Grandview Symphony Orchestra. It is true that the symphony struggled financially for many years, but last year private contributions to the symphony increased by 200 percent and attendance at the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series doubled. In addition, the symphony has just announced an increase in ticket prices for next year. For these reasons, we recommend that the city eliminate funding for the Grandview Symphony Orchestra from next year's budget. We predict that the symphony will flourish in the years to come even without funding from the city."

In the memo presented by the author, it is stated that the local authorities should abolish their financial aid to Grandview Symphony Orchestra. This conclusion is made by the budget planner based on the evidence that the organization has had a significant percent increase in private donations as well as attendance rates, and at the same time is about to increase their ticket’s pricing. However, before this decision can be properly evaluated, we must analyze three aspects.

Firstly, is the 200% increase in private donations enough to sustain Grandview Symphony Orchestra? In other words, does this change contribute to its financial stability? It may be the case that the bulk of their income comes from ticket sales and public funds and private contributions represent a small fraction of its yearly income stream. For example, if two years ago GSO’s private financial aid was one thousand dollars then last year’s private income would be three thousand dollars. However, is this quantity substantial for Grandview Symphony Orchestra’s budget? If it moves large sums of money, for example around the hundreds of thousands, then this variation in private funding has little to no impact in their total revenue. If this case is true, then the argument of the budget planner comes seriously weakened.

Secondly, are concerts in the park free of charge or do you have to pay a fee to enter? In other words, is the attendance rate of the concerts given in the park a good indicator for present or future income of Grandview Symphony Orchestra? Perhaps attendees just go to these concerts because they don’t cost them a penny and are uninterested in every other Grandview Symphony Orchestra’s activity. It may even be the case that these shows are not the main reason people go to that specific park. For example, there may be a food festival there that had strong advertisement this year, thus increasing its attendance. If either of these cases is true, then the author’s conclusion does not hold water.

Lastly, is the increase in ticket prices a consequence of high demand for their tickets? Grandview Symphony Orchestra could possibly increase their prices in order to sustain their finances. It may be the case that they are struggling to balance their revenue with their expenditures, and spend more than they earn on absolutely necessary things they cannot cut. Therefore, they are forced to spike their prices in order to maintain their service’s quality, given that the other way to accomplish this objective would be to incur in debt that they might not have the power to pay in the near future. If this situation is true, then the author’s conclusion is weakened.

In conclusion the argument, as it stands right now, is seriously flawed due to its unwarranted assumptions. Therefore, only if the author is able to answer these questions and provide evidence to support them are we apt to evaluate the viability of cutting GSO’s public aid.