The following appeared in a memo at XYZ company.

"When XYZ lays off employees, it pays Delany Personnel Firm to offer those employees assistance in creating résumés and developing interviewing skills, if they so desire. Laid-off employees have benefited greatly from Delany's services: last year those who used Delany found jobs much more quickly than did those who did not. Recently, it has been proposed that we use the less expensive Walsh Personnel Firm in place of Delany. This would be a mistake because eight years ago, when XYZ was using Walsh, only half of the workers we laid off at that time found jobs within a year. Moreover, Delany is clearly superior, as evidenced by its bigger staff and larger number of branch offices. After all, last year Delany's clients took an average of six months to find jobs, whereas Walsh's clients took nine."

In the memo presented by the author, it is stated that XYZ should not switch from Delany Personnel to Walsh Personnel. This conclusion is made by the author based on the evidence that Delany is of superior quality than Delany. However, before this decision can be properly made, we must analyze three aspects.

Firstly, is the economic environment similar to the one found 8 years ago? In other words, generally, do personnel firms match companies to employees with the same ease? Perhaps 8 years ago circumstances did not allow for such quick matching since the economy was in a bad shape and, as of right now, the country may be experiencing an economic boom that makes finding a job an easy and quick quest. If this scenario holds truth, the conclusion may be seriously weakened.

Secondly, even if the job market is in the same shape it was 8 years ago, and Walsh truly was slower to get fired employees new jobs, is Walsh in the same condition now or has it made efforts to improve their quality? It may be the case that administrators within Walsh noticed their serious lack of competitiveness and wanted to improve their quality in between those eight years. It is even possible that because of that same lack of quality, Walsh was under such a pressure that if it did not improve their services bankruptcy would surely follow. Thus focusing all their efforts in making Walsh a top notch company was the only way that the administrators found to clean their bad reputation, such efforts paying big and making Walsh the most eminent personnel firm in the area. If either of these cases is true, the conclusion made by the author might not hold water.

Lastly, is the number of employees and branches truly a good indicator of quality of service? In other words, is there a correlation between number of employees and quality? Perhaps Delany has such an amount of workers and branches that they are unable to assess and maintain their service’s quality. Or it may even be the case that Delany has an administrator that hires more employees than he should for the workload they have, thus making work of some employees redundant, which makes the number of workers a poor indicator of quality. If either of these cases holds truth, the author’s conclusion may become undermined

In conclusion the argument, as it stands right now, is seriously flawed due to its unwarranted assumptions. Therefore, only if the author is able to answer these questions and provide evidence to support them are we apt to evaluate the viability of switching from Delany to Walsh.