The following recommendation appeared in a memo from the mayor of the town of Hopewell.

"Two years ago, the nearby town of Ocean View built a new municipal golf course and resort hotel. During the past two years, tourism in Ocean View has increased, new businesses have opened there, and Ocean View's tax revenues have risen by 30 percent. Therefore, the best way to improve Hopewell's economy — and generate additional tax revenues — is to build a golf course and resort hotel similar to those in Ocean View."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this memo, the mayor of Hopewell states that the best way to strengthen Hopewell’s economy is to build a golf course and a resort complex. The mayor himself came to this conclusion based on evidence that a neighboring city did exactly this and its economy is prospering. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, we must analyze the following three aspects.

First of all, are Ocean View -and Hopewell roughly comparable? In other words, do these two towns share the same characteristics and problems? Perhaps Ocean View appeals to a wider range of people for its already well known attractions and, before the new resort was built, the other hotels were completely full, whereas that may not be the case for Hopewell. Further, Ocean View may be a centre of attraction for wealthy populace, where a resort is welcome by tourists, which may not be the case for Hopewell. If either of these scenarios has merit, then conclusions made by the mayor may be seriously weakened.

Secondly, even if these two towns are comparable, is the sharp rise of government revenue due mainly to the increase in tourism and its spillover effects? It is possible that these new complexes play a minor role in this revenue increase. For example, Ocean View may be completely renewing their economic strategy and promoting not only tourist attractions but also the creation of new tech companies that generate high amounts of revenue. It may as well be the case that this increase in tax revenue may be heavily attributed to these new companies, and the resort and golf club only account for one or two per cent of the increase. If the above is true, then the conclusion may not hold water.

Lastly, is the market already saturated with golf courses and resorts? In other words, is the existence of two golf courses and two resorts in two neighboring cities too many? It may be the case that the existence of two equal services in such a small area may lead consumers to split up between them, hence the growth in tax revenue and tourism might not be as big as expected. Worse, it can even happen that the quality of Ocean View’s services is much better than that of Hopewell and no tourists are attracted to the latter, making this investment a pure waste of money. If this comes out as truthful, conclusions by the mayor may become undermined.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its unwarranted assumptions. Only if the mayor is capable of giving some answers to these questions and offer evidence to support them are we apt to evaluate the viability of the recommendation to build a new resort and a golf course.