A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Education is surely one of the most important matters in government decisions. A nation should aspire to have a well taught population to improve their quality of life. However, one big problem is of utmost importance: should every student be taught the same? In my opinion, I disagree with such choice because it may do more harm than good for the two following reasons.

Firstly, it is very easy to brainwash a whole generation's thought by imposing some curriculum for them to learn. Take for example a despot that finds himself in power and wants to either to convert or to maintain its whole country in a dictatorial regime. He would surely accomplish this by teaching kids subjects that are beneficial for him. North Korea implements this exact technique to maintain its populace calm and subject to Kim Jong Un's power. He must only keep these children away from the outside world, cutting subjects such as international geography or other languages out of the curriculum.

Additionally, proximity between children and schools allows for the latter to decide better what are the best subjects to teach them. For instance, if a county is struggling with racism or chauvinism, then a school or local authority might know better than a central government on how to tackle this problem. They could add some lectures about equality and feminism in order to develop a stronger tolerance amongst kids. Such decision could not be made by a central authority because it lacks the closeness with its populations specific problems.

However, we should not ignore that some limits as to what can be lectured in schools must be established. For example, countries cannot let their schools decide entirely what to teach as they may end up taking the easiest route and lecturing subjects in order for the children to have good grades. Actions like this can be quite harmful for the population as it creates a generation full of ignorance.

In conclusion, schools should be the ones deciding on what to teach their kids because of their close interconnection and perception of a region's problems and the best course of action to take in order to mitigate these problems. however, even if this responsibility lies in schools, government should also establish some limit and by doing so they avoid the creation of a complacent educational system