SuperCorp recently moved its headquarters to Corporateville. The recent surge in the number of homeowners in Corporateville proves that Corporateville is a superior place to live than Middlesburg, the home of SuperCorp's current headquarters. Moreover, Middlesburg is a predominately urban area and according to an employee survey, SuperCorp has determined that its workers prefer to live in an area that is not urban. Finally, Corporateville has lower taxes than Middlesburg, making it not only a safer place to work but also a cheaper one. Therefore, Supercorp clearly made the best decision.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument in its current state looks flawed for many reasons and there are a number of unstated assumptions which are needed to be cleared so that we can be able to evaluate the decision of Supercop to moving its headquarters in Corporateville.

The city with which Corporateville is being compared is Middleburg. The arguments on which comparison is based, need more data to become credible. Starting from the first statement of surge in homeowners in Corporateville which make it a superior place to live looks completely fictional. The surge could be because of the reason that the cost of renting or owning a house in Corporateville is less as compared to Middlesburg. This reason by no means imply that the infrastructure of Corporateville is better than that of Middlesburg. So nothing could be surely said about the superiority of one city from the other.

Now coming to the survey conducted from Supercorp's employees. There is no information on exact number of employees which participated in the survey and how many of them choose living in a area which is not urban over an urban town. Some data in form of pie charts or simply in percentage should be provided. Moreover, there is no information in the argument about Corporateville, that is it an urban place or rural or suburb. So the data/information about the survey and the type of locality Corporateville is, is needed to make any decision on these factors.

Third statement which looks flawed is the comparison of tax between the two places. But nowhere it has been mentioned that what tax is being taken into account. Are they taking about the tax on citizens of that city or the tax which a company needs to pay. Even if it is made clear the next question comes that how can we say that a city is safer if it has lower taxes, as given in the argument. Taxing system and law and order of a place are two completey different entities. So more infromation on the elements, which make Corporateville safer is needed.

In conclusion i can say that if these understated assumptions can be cleared then we can be able to come in a position of evaluating the decision of Supercorp.