In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

There is alot of infromation missing in the given argument to conclude the idea that taking the same actions in Prunty County as done in Butler County five years ago, will lower the number of accidents in the in Prunty County.

Firstly there is no information given on the current state of highways of Prunty County. Are they wide enough for the traffic, are there any potholes on the highways, or are there any dangerous intersections. So first information is needed on these subjects and how they are contributing to the accidents, if such factors exists. If such factors are contributing to the number of accidents, then Prunty County can take up the steps which were taken in Butler County five years ago. But then these actions should not immitate the actions in Butler county, as those actions were taken in the past, five years ago. The same actions could be taken with keeping in mind the current situations, such as amount of traffic, type of vehicles on road in mind.

Now if the case is that, the highways of Prunty County are already of better quality than Butler County. In that case overspeeding could be the reason for the accidents. The decrease in the number of the accidents in the Butler County could be because of the reason that police in Butler County is strict to people overspeeding on the highways and people are following the speed limit rules. In Prunty County, it has been stated, that the speed limit has been decreased to 45 miles per hour but many people are exceeding the speed limit. So if the accidents are occuring due to overspeeding then the authorities of the Prunty County need to strictly regulate the speed and should put speed cameras on the highways and should fine the guilty heavily.