Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Scandals and reformers, both play their respective roles in making our society informed about the wrong doings and ultimately taking actions to reform our society based on this information. Scandals are useful, but i don not agree that they are better than any speaker or reformer, when it comes to making the public aware or starting a change in the society. In fact i don not think a comparison is justifiable.

Starting with the scandals, yes they are an important source of information on any wrongdoing in our society. We human beings love controversies and these scandals easily get our attention. All the media houses cover these scandals as much as they can to gain television rating, as they know people will watch such a news. And ultimately a scandal reaches out to mass like fire in the woods.Scandals put pressure on the government to take actions against the influential peoples, who otherwise would have not met the faith they deserve because of their wrong doings. Here we can take example of 2G scam in India. As it was a scam, a scandal, so it reached out to every citizen of the country, ultimately putting pressure on the government to sack it's minister. At the end the congress party lost the elections because of these scams 2014. Which proves that how scandals are important.

Coming to Reformers and Speaker, i think their work is not just limited to making the people aware but also showing them a path which could make the society better. A great example of it can be taken from the fight of independence for India by Mahatma Gandhi. Which influenced a lot of people to fight for freedom with him. And ultimately making the India free from the rule of Britishers.