Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The idea that those in power should step down after five years so that the success could be achieved through revitalisation through new leadership, is not completely accurate. There are some elements which make it a good practice but there are also some down sides to it.

Starting with the benefits of changing the top leadership after every 5 years. A new leadership will come up with new ideas for growth and development for their respective field, thus there will not be dearth of ideas for improvement.

Other than new ideas, the chances of corruption will be also decreased. As someone in power will be always afraid that if he/she will indulge in corruption, the next leadership will catch that and the scam will be exposed. So this fear will constantly check on the bad acts in which a person in power could indulge.

Advocating the benefits, I can oversee the downsides of the idea being discussed. Firstly, 5 years is not a very long time period. If there is a leader with good ideas and clear intentions then the person should be given more time to stay in his/her position. The good example for this point is elected lawmakers. If public think that their last tenure was satisfactory then the public could elect that person again. Secondly, sometimes there are some long term plans which won't be get completed if there will always be a change in the leadership.

In conclusion, we can say that the change in the leadership is necessary, but it should be after 5 years only does not look very promising.