The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

There are some unstated assumptions which need to be cleared if we want to reach to a conclusion about the claim made in the argument of increasing the advertising revenues by devoting more time to weather and local news.

Firstly, it has been stated that the complaints received from the viewers were concerned with the coverage of weather and local news. But what were the exact concerns of the viewer, infromtion is needed on that. Do viewers want more coverage on the local news and weather, or they want a futher decrease in time devoted to these news and they want more time national news. Or the audience is concerned about the quality of the local news being covered. If audience has concern for the quality of the local news, then devoting more time to it could do bad to the television station than any good.

Secondly, coming to cancelling of advertising contracts by local businesses. There is no specific reason given for this statement. There could be several reasons for it and we can not simply relate it to the factor of decrease in time of the coverage of local news. The other reasons could be that the businesses see an oppotunity of reaching out to more people if they shown their advertisements on a different time of the day, Or maybe the local businesses are going through a tough time economically. So profound informtation if needed to reach to any conclusion using this aspect of the argument.

In conclusion, we can say that if the television station want to make any decision about the time given to coverage of local news and weather, and gaining any benefits in doing so. Then the information for the assumptions mentioned about needs to be investigated further.