In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities.

Although state government announced the plans to clean the mason river the author’s argument based on allocating more funds to create riverside recreational facilities does stands doubtful and full of some of the author’s sweet but doubtful assumptions. Also let’s say it is easy that residents are complaining about quality of the river the author’s argument that because the state announced the plans the water sport activities will increase also stands doubtful.

Let’s look at the first assumption which author has made by saying that the survey said residents of city only “rank” water sports among their favourite activities. This statement of author stands with an obvious assumptions. I.e. how many residents were gone through this survey with compared to city population after that what if the residents who gone through this survey rank other sport activities also beside water sports. How many actual residents enjoyed or played water sports. Author has not pointed the actual survey results and this kind of assumptions stand questionable. If author cleared these assumptions then we can look forward.

Furthermore the author stated that despite the residents love for water sport activities the use of Mason River for these activities is rare and also stated that city park department spends little of its budget to maintain these facilities. Those both statements come up with various assumptions of author. For example If the river is not used for these activities then why the author is assuming that riverside recreational facilities will be used? If the river’s flow is drastic enough to not withstand the water sports ability then it is of no use for residents. And also if city park department knows this reason hence also they are not willing to spend more funds? This can also be true.

The next one is author stated that for years residents has been complaining regarding the quality of water which is smelly. This statement of author is unclear about how much residents have complained about the quality and also if for years they have been complaining why state government has now announced the plan? This also shows the doubt on the system that if they can clean the river in given time or not although the time is not given by government they only announced the plan there is no clarity among the plan. If the problem of smell is because of the natural minerals which are blowing out in river then there is no use of cleaning the river it will again show its image which is now seen.

As we have seen so much assumptions and doubts on author’s statement the argument of author does not stands faithful to devote more funds for recreational facilities. Also an clean and good quality river helps in prosperity of the surrounding city this can also be an reason why the state has announced their plan. So only on this basis that government is cleaning the river and residents rank their favourite activities, the government should allocate funds stands ambiguous.