In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

The argument claims that the city government should devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities as the use of the river is sure to increase after for these activities. Stated in this way the argument fails to provide key factors, based on which it can be evaluated. The conclusions made by the argument relies upon the assumption for which there is no clear evidence. Therefore the argument is weak and not convincing.

First, the argument readily assumes that the river usage will be increased by the residents of manson city for river recreational facilities after it is cleaned. This is a stretch because the argument does not provide any evidence for this statement. Let's take the example of a cricket stadium in the city which is not in use. If the survey of the residents of a city claim that their favorite activity is cricket. It does not mean that repairing the stadium will be used by the residents of the city. We don't have any information on whether there are any other stadium's that people are more interested in using. Clearly, the argument does not provide any information on whether the residents are interested in using the river after it gets cleaned. This argument could have been much clearer if it was explicitly stated that residents are interested in using the river for recreational activities.

Second, the argument claims that the government needs to increase it's year budget as the river will be used for recreational facilities after it is cleaned. This is again a very weak claim with no supporting evidence as the argument does not provide any correlation between the river not being used for the activities and the budget devoted for maintaining activities. Let us consider the example from the previous paragraph. If people are not interested in playing cricket in a stadium. The stadium committee is also not providing any sufficient funds for organizing any cricket event. It does not necessarily imply that people are not interested in using that stadium because of insufficient funds by the committee. There can be some other reason for not using the stadium like, they can be interested in some other stadium which has better facilities. If the argument had provided evidence that people are not using the river because of insufficient funds then it would have been a lot more convincing.

Finally, the argument is weak as it does not provide any evidence to validate its claims. The argument does not provide any statistics about the correlation between the usage of the river for activities and the budget devoted to them. It also does not provide any valid reasons whether people are interested in using the river for activities after it is cleaned. Without convincing answers to these questions, one is left with the thinking that the claim is more of a wishful thinking rather than a substantial claim.

In conclusion, the argument is weak the above-mentioned reasons and it is unconvincing. It could have been strengthened by providing clear evidence that supports the author's claims. To asses any situation it is necessary to have full information about it. As the author fails to provide the information this argument is flawed.