Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks.

Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

Consumption of internet, especially, need of social media has increased exponentially for last few years. I intend that social media has brought benefits in our lives rather than disadvantages, if we use it properly.

There are over 1 billion Facebook accounts which used regular. From kindergarten kids to pension elders use it too. Social media is used for communication and entertainment. It allows us to contact anyone who is on the other side of the earth without any charge. Moreover, it gives us opportunity to get latest information and keep up with the world trend. Also, if you have desire to share anything unique you can do with others, it the best way to introduce yourself.

However, social media has dark side too. The most crucial thing is personal information confidentiality. When using social media, you must know what you are doing. Clicking on one button, you are in risk to share your very private information. Usually, elders or kids, who is not familiar to modern technology has to be careful. Leaving their account open in public internet centers, possibility to occur fraud might increase. In Mongolia, there is warning inducted from Police that says people to not leave open their account in any place and tell anyone their password or not to access risky links which derived from unknown source.

Despite the fact that too many risks it is followed with, people still use social media. It became essential part of their life. I believe that, as long as people follows security steps and be aware of losing confidentiality of their accounts, it is safe to use it and keep on receiving advantages of social media.