Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks.

Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays there are several social media websites that have become part of everyone's life. Almost everyone has their account on at least one social media website and use it as a platform for sharing. Some people believe that sharing personal information via social media websites has a share of risks. While others think that social media pose no dangers over the sharing of personal information. I believe that sharing data over any social media website has considerable risks. Recently there have been many incidents indicating the potential dangers of passing information over personal information.

Sharing the data over social media can make your data vulnerable to hackers or it can be used by the social media website's developers as well. To illustrate this point we can take the example of the biggest social media website, Facebook. In recent years many allegations are made on Facebook. Surprisingly, Facebook has agreed to many of these allegations. Facebook agreed publicly that it saves the photo's that are shared over it's website. This is a serious threat to personal information. The recent growth in cybercrime has also made hackers intercept the messages being sent and gather information. This can also include sensitive information as well. So, there are greater threats to the information we share than people know.

Personal information shared on social networking sites can be used in various ways by people. We can take the tweet made by the security head of Adhar card(Identification of an Indian) as an example. The security head of Adhar card had tweeted his Adhar card number and challenged that there is no way someone can get information by this number. But within 24 hours numerous people had tweeted his various personal details like his mobile number, bank details, wife details, etc. So this is a clear indication that there are numerous ways through which small information on a social website can be used for illegal purposes. Hackers can get information on maiden's name, first school name, cat name, etc and can use them to hack the bank accounts.

In conclusion personal information can be used in a wide range of ways without our knowledge. Sharing this kind of information over social media publicly will pose a grave threat and can be used for many illicit ways. So people should be thoughtful and cautious when sharing any data via social media.